Department of Special Collections
Washington University Libraries
Washington University in St. Louis

Finding-Aid for the John Masefield Collection (WTU00269)

Finding aid prepared by:
Special Collections Staff

Summary Information
Title: John Masefield. Collection,
Creator: Masefield, John, 1878-1967
Inclusive dates:
Extent: 1 item
Call number: WTU00269
Language: English
Repository: Washington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, MO 63130

Access and Use:
Source of Collection:

Access Restrictions:


Use Restriction:


Users of the collections must read and abide by the Rules for the use of manuscript collection materials.

Users of the collections who wish to use items from this collection, in whole or in part, in any form of publication (as defined in the form) must sign and submit to the Washington University Department of Special Collections a hard copy of the Notification of intent publish manuscript collection materials form.

All publication not covered by fair use restricted to those who have permission of the copyright holder.

Processing Information:

Processed by Washington University Department Special Collections Staff. EAD encoded finding-aid completed by Sonya McDonald, August 2004.


John Masefield was the English poet laureate from 1930 until his death. He was also awarded the Order of Merit in 1935. His poetic publications include: Salt-Water Ballads (1902); the two long narrative poems, the Everlasting Mercy (1911) and The Widow in the Bye Street (1912); and Reynard the Fox . He was also well known for his dramatic works, in both verse and prose ( the Tragedy of Nan , The Tragedy of Pompey the Great, and The Coming of Christ ). His Gallipoli (1916) became a very popular war narrative during the 1920s.

Collection Scope and Content Note

Scope and Contents Note

n.d. Ts. letter signed, from Masefield to Denise Levertov, expressing his regrets that he had not had time to speak to her on Friday, and offering to read her ms. TLS 1p.

Subject Terms

  • Masefield, John, 1878-1967
  • Levertov, Denise, 1923-1997