Edwards' annual directory to the inhabitants, institutions, incorporated companies, manufacturing establishments, business, business firms, etc., etc., in the city of St. Louis for ... /
City and County Record
View original image: Page  npn

[missing figure]

St. Louis, From Illinoistown

City and County Record
City Government
w.west C.Lane, .
[missing figure]
First Mayor of St. Louis, 1823.
Incorporated—December 9th, 1822; Organized
March, 1823.
Municipal Election—First Monday in April.
Meetings of the Board of Common Council—
Second Monday in May and October.
Chauncey I.Filley, , Mayor ; Office, City Hall;
Board Of Common Council
President —F. w.west Cronenbold.,
JohnCairns, , CharlesSessinghaus, , JoshuaChee-, , Thomas J.Dailey, , FrederickDoering, , Gusta- w.west Dreyer, , PatrickDriscoll, , Aaron w.west Fagin, ,
Charles w.west Gottschalk, , JohnGrether, , Charles w.west
Horn, , HenryMcKee, , TonyNiederwieser, , Samuel
Plant, , John C.Rust, , HermanSchepman, , Solon
Stark, , Erastus w.west Wells, , J. G.Woevner.,
City Officers.
Mayor —Chauncey I.Filley, .
Comptroller —George K.Budd, .
Deputy Comptoller —b.between D.Killian.,
Treasurer —LouisBach, .
Register —Robert A.Watt, .
Register Clerk —J. P.Cuddey, .
Auditor —TrumanWoodruff, .
Engineer —Truman J.Homer, .
Harbor Master —James H.Whitelaw, .
Recorder —C. D.Wolff.,
Recorder’s Clerk —C. C.Hartmann,
Councellor —C. D.Drake.,
Attorney —LouisGottschalk, .
Fund Commissioner —AdolphusMeier, .
Land Commisioner —Wm.William P.Curtiss, .
Superintendent Water Works —w.west r.residence Pritchard,
Superintendent of Work House —J.Luddington.,
Wood Master —WilliamBond, .
Inspector of Flour —J. L.Benson.,
Inspector of Weights and Measures —John D.
Merten, .
Inspectors and Gaugers of Oils —Bart.Able, ,
and JohnSexton, .
Inspector of Buildings and Fires —G. M.Stevens.,
Register of Water Rates —MartinCollins, .
Managers House of Refuge —G. I.Filley, , J.
G.Woerner, , JohnCairns, , SamuelPlant, , John
Grether, , M. D.Linton, , JohnHow, , MarshallBroth-, , and Carlos s.south Greeley, .
Board Of Assessors.
President —Sylvester V.Papin, .
Assistant, 1st and 2d Wards —C. A.Vockrodt, ,
Assistant, 3d and 4th Wards —JohnMaguire, .
Assistant, 5th and 6th Wards —Jos.Davis, .
Assistant, 7th and 8th Wards —A. s.south Barada.,
Assistant, 9th and 10th Wards —e.east b.between Thomas.,
Street Inspectors.
1st District —HenryNeim, .
2d District —H. HenryMeisback, .
3d District —A.Gennes.,
4th District —H.Kroft.,
5th District —M. s.south Bates.,