The St. Louis directory and register :
of the distribution of powers.

The powers of government shall be divided into three distinct de-
partments, each of which shall be confided to a separate magistracy;
and no person charged with the exercise of powers properly be-
longing to one of those departments shall exercise any power pro-
perly belonging to either of the others, except in the instances here-
inafter expressly directed or permitted.