The St. Louis directory and register :
Section VIII.

The Congress shall have power—

1. To lay and collect taxes, duties, imposts, and excises, to pay
the debts, and provide for the common defence, and general welfare
of the United States; but all duties, imposts, and excises, shall be
uniform throughout the United States.

2. To borrow money on the credit of the United States.

3. To regulate commerce with foreign nations, and among the
several states, and with the Indian tribes.

4. To establish an uniform rule of naturalization, and uniform
laws on the subject of bankruptcies, throughout the United States.

5 To coin money; regulate the value thereof, and of foreign
coin; and fix the standard of weights and measures.

6. To provide for the punishment of counterfeiting the securities
and current coin of the United States.

7. To establish post offices and post roads.

8. To promote the progress of science and useful arts, by secu-
ring for limited times, to authors and inventors, the exclusive right
to their respective writings and discoveries.

9. To constitute tribunals inferior to the supreme court.

10. To define and punish piracies and felonies committed on the
high seas, and offences against the law of nations.

11. To declare war; grant letters of marque and reprisal; and
make rules concerning captures on land and water.

12. To raise and support armies. But no appropriation of money
for that use, shall be for a longer term than two years.

13. To provide and maintain a navy.

14. To make rules for the government and regulation of the land
and navel forces.

15. To provide for calling forth the militia to execute the laws
of the union, suppress insurrections, and repel invasions.